Psalmi Penitentiales

Psalmi Penitentiales (2016)
SATB choir, organ or piano. Duration c.18 minutes
Psalmi Penetentiales (Penitential Psalms) was commissioned by the Waltham Singers, conductor Andrew Fardell, and the three main movements comprise extracts, in Latin, from Psalms particularly associated with the season of Lent. Each of these movements include musical material from the plainchant antiphon for Maundy Thursday, Ubi Caritas, and this melody is also presented four times separately as prelude, interludes, and postlude. Thus the shape of the work is as follows:
1. Ubi Caritas (Where charity and love are, God is there)
2. Domine, ne in furore tuo arguas me (O Lord, do not rebuke me in your anger) – from Psalm 6
3. Ubi Caritas
4. De profundis clamavi ad te (Out of the depths I have cried to you) – from Psalm 129 or 130
5. Ubi Caritas
6. Domine, exaudi orationem meam (O Lord, hear my prayer) – from Psalm 101 or 102
7. Ubi Caritas
‘Impressively sung under the exacting direction of Andrew Fardell: dramatic lower voices for De Profundis, a telling repetition for ‘in generationem’ and a sensitively sustained Amen at the close’ – Michael Gray, Arts Blog.
Oxford University Press

link to blog
link to recording with scrolling score