Palace Dances

Palace Dances (2007)
woodwind orchestra: flexible scoring in four or more parts: Grades 5-7

Commissioned by the Palace Band, the five varied movements of this suite refer to the history of Alexandra Palace in North London. Flexibly scored in four parts, but works best with a wide variety of woodwind instruments, for example: Part 1 (Piccolo, Flute, Clarinet, Sop Sax) Part 2 (Flute, Oboe, Clarinet), Part 3 (Clarinet, Alto Sax), Part 4 (Bassoon, Tenor Sax, Bass Clarinet).
The movements are:
1. Intrada
2. Palace Pavane – a leisurely train journey to the palace, crossing the disused Muswell Hill Viaduct with its broad view over London
3. Alley Dance (the ‘Alley Pally’)
4. Princess Alexandra’s Minuet – after whom the Palace was named
Palais de Danse – a young couple dance in the grand ballroom in the Palace’s heyday, having arrived on a ‘bicycle made for two’
The movements can be performed separately.
(I may produce a Concert Band version of this piece in the future).
Score and parts available from the composer 

Link to complete performance on SoundCloud
Link to complete performance (with visuals) on YouTube

Extract 1 : Intrada

Extract 2: Palais de Dance

Score: click link: Palace Dances complete short score