A Summer Garland

A Summer Garland (2002)
SATB unaccompanied. Duration c. 16 minutes
Commissioned and first performed by the Waltham Singers conducted by Andrew Fardell. The work, which consists of five movements touching on the different aspects of summer, was enjoyed by the choir so much that they sung it twice at Great Waltham, and then twice more in a repeat concert in Dedham the next day. It has since become a popular part of the repertoire of many choirs. The five movements, which portray the varying moods of summer, from buzzing flies to calm evenings, from May-blossom to fancy dress parades, may be performed separately (contact composer for offprints or licence to copy)
1. May, Queen of Blossoms
2. The Rose in June
3. Busy Fly
4. July Evening
5. Summer Queen

Printed copies are available to order, or on hire, from Colne Edition in the UK – price on application.

Digital downloads / pdfs are available worldwide from Colne Edition  at £3.00 per complete copy or £1.50 per single movement – minimum order 10 copies.  Please also contact Colne Edition for no-obligation specimen copies.

A Summer Garland Inspection Copy

Link to performance with scrolling score on YouTube

Link to blog about this piece