Spring Pictures

Spring Pictures (1996) – three movements for violin and piano
13 mins: Grade 8+
These three movements – Awakening, Bluebell and Celandine, and Merry-making – focus on the lyrical and romantic qualities of the two instruments
Commissioned and first performed by Beth Spendlove (violin) with Nigel Clayton (piano) at the Purcell Room, 9 February 1997: many performances since.
`A genre suite in the best tradition of British light music’ – Philip Scowcroft, British Music Society Newsletter

Colne Edition / Spartan Press  details

Extract from 3rd movement, ‘Merrymaking’:

complete performance on YouTube