A Year in a Day

A Year in A Day (2001)
SSAATTBB unaccompanied. Duration c.16 minutes
This choral suite in five movements was commissioned by the Reading Phoenix Choir, conductor Norman Morris and received a very successful first performance at the Hexagon, Reading, in November 2001 and has had several performances since. There are five movements, bringing a wide range of colour and texture to the various seasons, and treating fragments of text in an almost symphonic way.
1. Winter Dawn (lines from Tennyson’s In Memoriam)
2. Spring Morning (one line from Gerard Manley Hopkins’ Spring)
3. Summer Afternoon (anonymous lines)
4. Autumn Twilight (lines from William Watson’s Autumn, and from Robert Bridges’ November)
5. Winter Night (Emily Bronte: The night is darkening round me)

Unpublished and available from the composer

Complete performance on YouTube